yfkeopmercyships.reismee.nl

Thankfullness

Dear all,

This week is the sixth week that I am here in Madagascar. It is so special to be here and to know the culture and people of Madagascar.

It was the last week that I was together with my interpreter Muriëlle. Next Sunday, Heidi will come from Salt Lake City to join our team. She is palliative nurse in America. It will be her first time that she will be in Africa.

Sometimes it is quite difficult to explain to people what we are really doing in the community and with the patients we see. It is not only the disease that the patients have to deal with but also their daily life they need to live in.

The poverty they have to face here every day. The belief that is so mixed with ancestor worship and worship of other gods. The prostitution that is so visible in the streets.

By seeing all these things it is sometimes quite lonely when you in the evening are back on the ship back and try to tell your story what you experienced that day. It is sometimes so overwhelming and how to bring it over to your crew members?

This week I have learned to expect it not from men but to continue to see to the Lord and expect all things from Him. He does so many things to be thankful for and to see that He is always there in our often difficult visits to people's homes. He gives so many good moments in a day to be thankful for and so I want to share with you ten things that I am grateful for.

1. For my interpreter Muriëlle without her I cannot communicate with my patients she is so valuable to me.

2. For the land rover we are every day driving through heavy traffic and big size puddles when it rains. And we have never made a mistake or got stuck.

3. For my patients that I visit every day it is so nice to encourage people and to stand beside them in the most difficult time of their lives.

4. For stroopwafels that we can buy on the ship with a delicious cup of tea ?

5. For you my supporters who follow me and pray for me and want to help in my finances.

6. For good internet connection that I can skype and whats app with home what a privilege.

7. Malagasy chicken really so good.

8. The Dutch Mercy Ships office in the Netherlands and for the EO team that gives attention to Mercy Ships in the Netherlands.

9. For the vvf women who heal here and celebrate that they are better. Some have leaked urine for years by complications with the birth of their children. Here they can receive healing from surgery.

10. For my fiancé Daniel coming week we are together for two years and am so happy to celebrate that with him?

Reacties

Reacties

Hanneke (intomission)

You're really a gifted writer. Thank you for taking me with you to the little houses. I thank God for you on this position!
Love Hanneke

laurence

so happy to read you and to see and know you are blessed in blessing around you always!! people's angel, thanks you!

{{ reactie.poster_name }}

Reageer

Laat een reactie achter!

De volgende fout is opgetreden
  • {{ error }}
{{ reactieForm.errorMessage }}
Je reactie is opgeslagen!